ROTUNDA

Music

The music is performed by The NZ Army Band in Tauranga, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin, and North Shore Brass in Auckland. The score consists of contemporary brass music from New Zealand composers Gareth Farr, John Ritchie and Don McGlashan. Traditional hymns are woven into this stunning score to conjure the emotional landscape of a seminal time in our nation’s history. The following musical works are performed during Rotunda.

  • Flourish For An Occasion by John Ritchie
  • Invercargill by Alex Lithgow
  • Invercargill Deconstructed by Alex Lithgow, arr. Don McGlashan
  • Tawhirimatea* by Gareth Farr (recorded by the National Youth Band of New Zealand, conducted by Nigel Weeks)
  • Coventry Carol by Trad, arr. Don McGlashan
  • E Pari Ra (sung) by Paraire Tomoana, arr. Don McGlashan
  • Jerusalem by William Blake/Hubert Parry, arr. Don McGlashan
  • Threnody by John Ritchie
  • Flourish Homecoming by John Ritchie, arr. Don McGlashan
  • Colne by Thomas Rive
  • Nimrod, from Enigma Variations by Edward Elgar, arr. Denis Wright
  • Chorale Prelude #1 by Johannes Brahms

Show Highlights: Rotunda

"Stylishly evocative, danced – and played – from the heart, Rotunda closes lyrical and lovely, with an image of hope for a peaceful and loving world. Don’t we wish?"

Bernadette Rae, The New Zealand Herald

Tauranga

Baycourt Community & Arts Centre
13 March 2015

Wellington

Soundings Theatre, Te Papa
Thursday, 19 March 2015
Friday, 20 March 2015
Saturday, 21 March 2015
Sunday, 22 March 2015
Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Christchurch

Air Force Museum of New Zealand
Friday, 27 May 2015

Dunedin

Regent Theatre
Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Auckland

ASB Theatre, Aotea Centre
Thursday, 23 April 2015
Friday, 24 April 2015
Saturday, 25 April 2015

Adelaide, Australia

Her Majesty's Theatre
Friday, 1 May 2015
Saturday, 2 May 2015

Melbourne, Australia

Arts Centre Melbourne
Thursday, 7 May 2015
Friday, 8 May 2015
Saturday, 9 May 2015

Parramatta, Australia

Riverside Theatre, Parramatta
Wednesday, 13 May 2015
Thursday, 14 May 2015
Friday, 15 May 2015
Saturday, 16 May 2015

Geelong, Australia

Geelong Performing Arts Centre
Thursday, 21 May 2015
Friday, 22 May 2015
Saturday, 23 May 2015

2014 HOLLAND DANCE FESTIVAL

Den Haag, NETHERLANDS

Theater aan het Spui
Thursday, 13 February
Friday, 14 February
Saturday, 15 February

Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS

Stadsschouwburg
Tuesday, 18 February

2013 PREMIERE SEASON

Auckland

Q Theatre
Saturday, 29 August 2013
Sunday, 30 August 2013

Creative Team

Musical Director
Don McGlashan

Choreography
Shona McCullagh in collaboration with the dancers

2015 Dancers
Carl Tolentino
Chrissy Kokiri
Chris Ofanoa
Gareth Okan
Hannah Tasker-Poland
Katie Rudd
Lucy Lynch
Tupua Tigafua

Aloalii Tapu (Understudy)
Georgia Goater (Understudy)
Lisa McFarlane (Secondee)
Taniora Motutere (Secondee)

2013 Dancers
Carl Tolentino
Emma Dellabarca
Emmi Coupe
Gareth Okan
Hannah Tasker-Poland
Justin Haiu
Lucy Lynch
Tupua Tigafua

Chrissy Kokiri (Secondee)

Conductors
SSGT Phillip Johnston & Marc Taddei

Musicians
NZ Army Band & North Shore Brass

Composers
Don McGlashan
John Ritchie
John Psathas
Edward Elgar
Johannes Brahms
Gareth Farr
Alex Lithgow

Set Design
Joe Bleakley

Costume Design
Jane Holland

Lighting Design
Paul O’Brien

Dramaturgy
Michelanne Forster

AV Design
Augusto Ltd